+44 (0)1843 869171

Tag: visitbroadstairs

MORELLI’S

MORELLI’S ICE CREAM PARLOUR is located on the seafront in Broadstairs overlooking Viking Bay. It was founded in 1932 and is still in the Morelli family today. This parlour is a nostalgic step back in time with its furnishings and décor, juke box and seating booths.

NORTH FORELAND LIGHTHOUSE

North Foreland Lighthouse, along the coast between Broadstairs and Margate, was built in 1691. It was first lit by fire in 1499! The lighthouse is probably one of the most photographed local landmarks in the Isle of Thanet.

THE PALACE CINEMA

This character building is bigger inside than it looks from the outside! It has been a cinema since 1965 (although the building had several uses before that), and has had several changes of name and ownership. It only seats 111but it boasts the latest digital sound and projection technology, and is very popular with Hilderstone […]

THE CLOCK TOWER

There has been a clock tower in Broadstairs since 1897 to celebrate Queen Victoria’s diamond jubilee (60 years on the throne). The original clock tower was destroyed in a fire and the current one was built in 1970 to commemorate Queen Elizabeth 11’s silver jubilee (25 years on the throne). The clock tower is located […]

THE GRAND HOTEL

For those of you who have visited Broadstairs, do you recognise this building standing tall and majestic on the seafront at Louisa Bay? It was the Grand Hotel, built around 1881. It had over 100 guest bedrooms, ballroom, a billiards hall, stables and beautiful views across the sea. It was a very prestigious hotel. It […]

YORK ARCH

YORK ARCH, in our town of Broadstairs, was built in the 15th century. It once had two strong wooden doors to defend against high tides. In later years, it offered protection against smugglers and our enemies, should we become under attack. Now there are no doors but this very important and beautiful arch remains. It […]

THE LOOK OUT HOUSE AND STORES

It is thought that this building dates back to around 1700. It is called the Look Out House and Stores but it was also known as the Boathouse because it was the life-boat station and harbour master’s office between 1869 to 1912. During that time 275 lives were saved from shipwrecks by the brave life-boat […]